top of page

Self Introduction: Defining Global Citizenship

The Global Citizenship Certificate program is an excellent way to prepare living and engaging in a culturally diverse and rapidly changing world. Upon hearing about this program, I was enthralled knowing that this will allow me to better understand my global perspective, deepen my understanding of diversity, cultural complexity, interconnectedness and enhance my sense of personal and community responsibility.


“The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeing new sights, but in looking with new eyes.” -Marcel Proust.

This quote truly reflects my sentiment on travelling and being a global citizen. I believe Global Citizenship means understanding and being aware of the world and the uniqueness of everyone and everything in it. It is bringing a global perspective and sharing it to home and to one’s community. As the quote by Marcel Proust expresses, when travelling to a new place, seeing what’s there physically such as landscapes and landmarks are one thing, but actually perceiving with new understanding and being able to intellectually comprehend and accept their unique culture and community is what makes a real adventure worthwhile.


Travelling has always been a big part of my life. My family and I moved from the Philippines to Canada in the summer of 2010. While it was a very exciting change, it meant leaving behind everyone and everything I know. It was very hard in the beginning and I had to make a lot of adjustments. However, as I settle more in Canada and met people who made a significant impact in my life and eventually integrate myself into the culture, it made me realize how much I would love to travel more as it sparked a desire in me to continue to experience different cultures. Last year of February 2019, I took the opportunity to study abroad where I spent a semester in the beautiful country of Denmark. It is one of the most valuable experiences I had both professionally and personally. It provided me with improved intercultural communication skills, flexibility and adaptability to new circumstances, new friendships, global connections, and sincere appreciation of our diverse world.


What interests me the most is how I can effectively share my experiences with my communities and hear from them as well. I want to become a responsible global citizen and understand my rights and privileges in being so. I look forward to exploring the contemporary and historical contexts in regards to both my academic discipline and personal values that shape what it means to be a true global citizen.


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page